Below is a list of related historic sites, museums, organizations, and local attractions.
Glengarry History continues the traditions and goals of the Glengarry Historical Society. It is the new ‘face’ of the 50 year old society. It integrates the governance of the Glengarry Historical Society, the Nor’Westers and Loyalist Museum, and the new Glengarry County Archive.
The Glengarry Historical Society was founded in 1957 with the following goals: To stimulate interest in local history among residents of the county by holding meetings with lectures, displays, papers and discussions; To discover and collect materials which will help to preserve and illustrate the history of the county; To provide for the preservation and display of such materials and for its accessibility, as far as may be feasible, to all who may wish to examine or study it; To promote the preservation and restoration of historical areas, buildings, monuments and markers in Glengarry county.
The Williamstown Fair has been serving the South Glengarry community since 1812. The Williamstown Fair is nestled in the quaint village of Williamstown surrounded by beautiful large pines. It has maintained it’s country charm and throughout the years continues to be a local hub with it’s roots deeply committed to rural life. In addition, our friendly and professional volunteers and exhibitors are here to answer any questions you may have about our fair or our programs.
Opened in 1962, the Glengarry Pioneer Museum consists of several nineteenth century log heritage buildings and artifacts. The museum’s original structure started life as MacIntosh’s Store in the 1840s. It then became the Star Inn, a stagecoach stop in the 1860s. It is this period that the inn is furnished to reflect…including the original barroom, believed to be one of the oldest in Eastern Ontario.
St Raphael’s is situated in the former Charlottenburgh Township, now South Glengarry on the seventh concession back from the St Lawrence River. Commenced by Alexander Macdonell, vicar general and future Roman Catholic Bishop of Upper Canada, this large stone church served a congregation of Gaelic- speaking Catholic Highlanders who had settled in the easternmost county of Upper Canada in 1786. For a time St Raphael’s function as the administrative centre of the Roman Catholic Church in Upper Canada and today is recognized as the founding church for the Anglophone Catholics of the province.
The old house proudly at the end of a gravel driveway overlooking the Raisin River in the picturesque eastern Ontario village of Williamstown. Dating back to 1784, it is one of the oldest structures in the province, and in every room there are signs of age.he house is named after two important former residents: the Reverend John Bethune, who introduced Presbyterianism to Upper Canada, and David Thompson, the celebrated fur trader and map-maker who helped survey the Canada-U.S. border. Both lived here with their families in the days before Confederation.
Built in Williamstown, Ontario between 1784 and 1792 as part of a mill site, Sir John Johnson House is significant for its architectural design and for being one of the oldest surviving buildings in Ontario. Also important is its historical connection to Sir John Johnson, who encouraged United Empire Loyalist to settle in the St. Lawrence River Valley after the American Revolution.
The Macdonell-Williamson House, known as “Poplar Villa” or “Scotus” was built by John Macdonell on his retirement circa 1817. It is located in Ontario on the Ottawa River adjacent to the village of Pointe-Fortune, at the border between Ontario and Quebec (Upper Canada and Lower Canada).The house was acquired in 1978 by the Ontario Heritage Foundation in order to save it from demolition. Extensive architectural and archeological investigations were carried out.
The Martintown Mill was built in 1846 by Alexander McMartin. It is located in the centre of the village of Martintown in historic Glengarry county, Ontario. The mill is a charming, rustic building in a picturesque setting on the north bank of the Raisin River. It is a popular destination for tourists.
Glengarry County has a wealth of Celtic heritage. One thing lacking, however, has been a form of recognition for those talented individuals who make up Glengarry’s rich Celtic culture. Recently, this void has been filled by the formation of the Glengarry Celtic Music Hall of Fame. The organization was founded on June 10th, 2003 in Alexandria, Ontario. Its creation was the culmination of many meetings of a small group of individuals interested in officially recognizing contributions to the continuance of Celtic music heritage in the county of Glengarry, Ontario.
Since the first Games were held in 1948, the people of Glengarry have extended close to a million welcomes to visitors who come to see what is estimated to be one of the largest Highland Games in the world. Hundreds of thousands of people have found themselves drawn once a year to Maxville, to witness an outstanding display of music, dance, sports, fiddling, pageantry, and tradition. In the course of the day, more than 60 pipe bands are put through their paces to decide the North American Pipe Band Championships™, more than 200 dancers defy gravity in the Highland Dance competition and giants hurl telephone pole-sized cabers and 50 pound iron hammers around the infield. It is a memorable and incredible event.
The Glengarry Sports Hall of Fame is an organization that was founded in 1978 to celebrate and preserve the achievements of Glengarry County’s athletes. Loyalists and Scottish immigrants settled in Glengarry in the late eighteenth century. Today the area is home to people of many descents and boasts an impressive sporting heritage.
The Friends of Glengarry Trails Association (FGTA) is a volunteer group of trails enthusiasts who devote their efforts to the development and maintenance of a nature trail system in the Township of North Glengarry. Originally constructed with the assistance of Provincial and Municipal funding, it is now entirely maintained through the generosity of the users and the community in general by way of memberships and participation in fund-raising events.
We are a non-profit organization, situated in Glengarry County, Ontario, Canada, that strives to promote and support the Celtic culture in our community.
Musée Vankleek Hill Museum and Historical Society
The Historical Society was created during the 1997 Vankleek Hill Bi-centennial with the objective to foster interest in and preservation of our community history. Our goal is to create a museum, archives & visitor centre to provide a centre of learning that draws on research, collections, exhibitions. Our ongoing local history preservation projects include oral histories, indexing cemeteries, walking tours. The Vankleek Hill Museum is located on Main Street, Vankleek Hill, and is devoted to local history, architecture and genealogy.
Glengarry Encore hosts a variety of educational workshops and lectures for adults. They have published two books on local history and experiencing Glengarry.